The Two Gulfs

Portofino, one of Italy's most famous parks

The symbol of this strip of coastline is the Portofino Promontory, one of Italy's most famous parks. Strolling along its paths, one enters a treasure chest with many precious stones. The Protected Marine Area develops around the Portofino Promontory and involves three municipalities: Camogli, the town of the 'Thousand White Sailboats' with a long seafaring tradition, Portofino, an exclusive and prestigious destination village, and Santa Margherita Ligure, a sophisticated town embellished with evocative landscapes. The Marine Area is divided into three zones A, B and C.

Zone A is limited to the inlet called Cala Dell'Oro and is an integral reserve. Zone B is between Punta del Faro di Portofino and Punta Chiappa with submerged reefs of great naturalistic value where you can admire various types of gorgonia, red coral and numerous species of fish including grouper. The two C zones extend to the sides of the promontory where there are posidonia meadows rich in animal life.

Discover the surrounding area

The structure has obtained the MQA 2.0 - CETS phase II (European Charter for Sustainable Tourism) certification assigned by the Europarc Federation,
thus ensuring its commitment to promoting sustainable tourism compatible with the needs of protecting biodiversity in protected areas.